Snowmobile safari in Rovaniemi
The short answer
The ticket price is not what a Rovaniemi snowmobile safari costs you. Two people share each machine and swap at the halfway point, so a three-hour tour is well under an hour of driving each; you must be eighteen and hold a driving licence to drive at all, whatever the law allows; and if you put the machine into a tree, the excess is 900 to 980 euros depending on the operator, which is several times the ticket. Check those three before you compare prices, because they vary far more than the prices do.
How the operators compare
Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.
| Snowtrail Safaris | StayLapland | Lapland Safaris | |
|---|---|---|---|
| From | €149 | €99 — lowest starting price | €113 |
| Duration | 4 h | 3 h | 1 h |
| Riders per machine | Not stated | 2 | 2 |
| Damage excess | Not stated | €900, or €250 for €25 — lowest damage excess | €980 |
| Warm clothing | Yes — warm clothing included | Yes — warm clothing included | Not stated |
-
Snowtrail Safaris
- From
- €149
- Duration
- 4 h
- Riders per machine
- Not stated
- Damage excess
- Not stated
- Warm clothing
- Yes — warm clothing included
The most expensive of the three and the longest, and the only one that puts a reindeer farm at the end of the trail rather than just a cabin. Eight kilometres of trail inside four hours tells you honestly how much of the programme is driving. Neither the riders per machine nor the damage excess appears on the page, which are the two things worth asking before you pay.
-
StayLapland
- From
- €99 — lowest starting price
- Duration
- 3 h
- Riders per machine
- 2
- Damage excess
- €900, or €250 for €25 — lowest damage excess
- Warm clothing
- Yes — warm clothing included
The cheapest here and the clearest about the small print: two per machine, and an excess of €900 that you can buy down to €250 for €25. Private trails rather than the shared network. It needs two people to run on weekdays and four on Sundays, so a solo traveller booking late may find it does not go.
-
Lapland Safaris
- From
- €113
- Duration
- 1 h
- Riders per machine
- 2
- Damage excess
- €980
- Warm clothing
- Not stated
The short one, and the right answer if you want to try a snowmobile without giving up half a day. The trade-off is that an hour of programme is not an hour of driving once you have shared the machine. Their published excess is the highest of the three, and children under fifteen ride in a sledge behind the guide.
Highlighted figures are the best in that row: lowest starting price, lowest damage excess and warm clothing included. Duration is not marked — an hour is not worse than four if an hour is what you wanted. Riders per machine is not marked either, because two of the three publish the same figure and the third does not publish one.
Where these figures come from
- Snowtrail Safaris snowtrailsafaris.com read 9 Sept 2026
- StayLapland visitrovaniemi.fi read 9 Sept 2026
- Lapland Safaris visitrovaniemi.fi read 9 Sept 2026
- Snowtrail Safaris: The most expensive of the three and the longest, and the only one that puts a reindeer farm at the end of the trail rather than just a cabin. Eight kilometres of trail inside four hours tells you honestly how much of the programme is driving. Neither the riders per machine nor the damage excess appears on the page, which are the two things worth asking before you pay.
- StayLapland: The cheapest here and the clearest about the small print: two per machine, and an excess of €900 that you can buy down to €250 for €25. Private trails rather than the shared network. It needs two people to run on weekdays and four on Sundays, so a solo traveller booking late may find it does not go.
- Lapland Safaris: The short one, and the right answer if you want to try a snowmobile without giving up half a day. The trade-off is that an hour of programme is not an hour of driving once you have shared the machine. Their published excess is the highest of the three, and children under fifteen ride in a sledge behind the guide.
A snowmobile safari is the Rovaniemi activity people arrive with the clearest picture of and the least accurate one. The picture is a machine each, open country, and speed. The reality is set by three things the listings leave out.
You are probably sharing, and taking turns
Two people to a machine is the default, not the exception. Lapland Safaris says it plainly — on safaris they drive two per snowmobile — and StayLapland’s tour is sold the same way. You swap at a halfway stop, so half the trail is spent behind someone else’s shoulders.
Work the arithmetic before you book. A three-hour programme includes pickup, kitting up, a briefing, a cabin stop and the drive back, so the machine time might be an hour; halve that again for sharing, and the thing you came for is about half an hour long. Snowtrail publish the honest version of this figure: eight kilometres of trail inside a four-hour programme.
Most operators will sell you a machine to yourself for a single supplement. If driving is the point of the day, that supplement is the most useful money you will spend on this activity, and it is worth asking about at the time of booking rather than on the morning.
The law says fifteen. The operators say eighteen.
This one catches families out every season.
Under Finnish rules a snowmobile may be driven from the age of fifteen, and on marked snowmobile routes and road crossings the driver needs at least a T-class licence — the tractor licence, which is available at fifteen.
None of that helps you here, because every operator in this comparison sets its own bar higher. All three require the driver to be eighteen and holding a valid driving licence. Lapland Safaris go further and put under-fifteens in a towed sledge rather than on a machine at all.
So the legal position and the bookable position are different, and it is the bookable one that decides your day. If a sixteen-year-old in your party is expecting to drive, settle it with the operator in writing before you pay.
The number nobody quotes you
The ticket is not your financial exposure. The excess is.
Put a machine into a tree and you are liable up to €900 with StayLapland or €980 with Lapland Safaris — several times the price of the tour, per snowmobile, per accident. StayLapland sell a waiver for €25 that brings their figure down to €250, which on a €99 ticket is the single best-value line item on this page. Snowtrail do not publish an excess at all, which is worth a question rather than an assumption.
Nobody mentions this at the point of booking because it does not help sell the tour. Read it anyway, and if a waiver is offered, take it.
How fast you will actually go
Finnish law caps snowmobiles at 60 km/h in open terrain, 80 km/h on ice-covered water, 40 km/h crossing a road, and 40 km/h when there are passengers in a sleigh behind you. A guided line moves well below those numbers, because it travels at the pace of its most nervous rider and the guide is watching mirrors, not racing.
That is the right expectation to bring. What a safari is genuinely good at is covering ground you cannot otherwise reach — frozen bog, river ice, forest tracks — in a way that feels fast enough at 40 km/h with trees close on both sides. What it is not is a track day.
Which length to book
An hour is enough to find out whether you like it, and Lapland Safaris’ short safari exists for exactly that. It is the right choice on a packed itinerary or if you suspect one of your party will hate it.
Half a day is the length at which the driving stops being the whole content and the trip acquires somewhere to go — a cabin with Santa in it, a reindeer farm, a hole cut in a frozen lake, a view. That is what Snowtrail’s four hours and StayLapland’s three are buying you, and if you are only doing this once, it is the version worth doing.
The lake version turns on one thing the listings bury, which is whether you drive to the ice yourself or ride there in a towed sleigh; snowmobile and ice fishing from Rovaniemi compares the tours on that choice. Pairing the machine with the dogs instead is a separate sum, and huskies and a snowmobile works out whether the combination beats booking the two halves apart.
Which of the four operators to book is a narrower question than which length, and the best snowmobile tour in Rovaniemi takes it on price, driving time, riding alone and the damage excess.
The same half-day shape also runs after dark, with the northern lights as the destination rather than a cabin. Read that one on its own terms before you count on it: how an evening divides between driving in the dark and standing at the stop is the whole of a snowmobile northern lights tour, and it is not the same purchase as a safari with a view at the end.
Questions people ask
I have never driven a snowmobile. Is that a problem?
No, and the tours are built on the assumption that nobody has. A safety briefing and a hands-on introduction come before you set off — Snowtrail lists both in the price — and the controls amount to a thumb throttle, a brake lever and leaning into the corners. A guide leads the line and sets the pace, so you are following rather than navigating. The part people find harder than expected is not the machine but the cold at speed, and the fact that steering a heavy sled through soft snow takes actual arm strength.
Can children come if they cannot drive?
Yes, on every tour compared here, but as passengers rather than drivers. Lapland Safaris puts under-fifteens in a sledge towed behind the guide's machine. Snowtrail takes children from three and includes sleigh transport for smaller ones and for anyone who would rather not ride at all. StayLapland does not recommend the tour for under-threes. What no operator will do is let a fifteen- or sixteen-year-old drive, so if that was the plan for a teenager, this is the thing to settle before you book rather than at the trailhead.
What happens if the weather is bad on the day?
Snowmobile safaris run in weather that would cancel other activities, because the machines cope with cold and wind far better than dogs or people on foot do. The realistic risks are a cancellation from the operator's side in extreme cold and a thin-snow start or finish to the season. Cancellation terms are the operator's own rather than an industry standard, so read them for whichever tour you choose; Snowtrail's tour page and its general terms, for one, do not say the same thing. Note also that some tours need a minimum number of bookings to run at all.
