Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

Korouoma canyon and its frozen waterfalls, from Rovaniemi

Two walkers seen from behind on a snow-covered wooden boardwalk with railings, leading away between snow-laden pines

Illustration photo: two walkers on a snow-covered boardwalk through forest.

The short answer

Treat Korouoma as a full day and a real walk. The tours take about seven hours door to door, including roughly an hour and a half's drive each way, and the walk past the frozen falls is a few kilometres on a trail the park authority grades as hard and says is dangerously slippery in winter. Book a tour that includes ice grips or confirm that it does, and check the minimum age, which runs from eight to ten. If anyone in the group struggles on steep, icy ground, choose a different day out.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Nordic OdysseyWild About LaplandBeyond ArcticExperience Tours
Adult €130–140 €145 €145 €119 — the cheapest adult ticket
Child €120, aged 10–12 €109 €116, aged 8–12 Not stated
Youngest accepted 10 8 8 Not stated
Walking About 5 km About 5 km About 3 km 5 km, about 3 h
Ice grips Included Not stated Not stated Not stated
Winter clothing and boots €5 a set Included Included Bring your own
Food Barbecue lunch, morning tours only Campfire lunch Light lunch Hot drinks
Season November to April Not stated 1 Dec–18 Apr Best December to March

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the cheapest adult ticket. Only the adult price is marked. The youngest age is unmarked because a lower limit is not better on a trail graded hard, and the walking distance is unmarked because a shorter walk is a different day, not a worse one.

Where these figures come from
  • Nordic Odyssey: Two departures a day, at half past eight and at one, with a slightly lower adult price for groups of four or more.
  • Wild About Lapland: Three morning start times, overalls and boots lent for the day, and lunch cooked on a campfire in the canyon.
  • Beyond Arctic: A photography expedition rather than a hike, with a guide who photographs the group and edited pictures afterwards. It needs at least two people to run.
  • Experience Tours: Transport, a guide, hot drinks and photographs in the price, which is the lowest of the four.

Korouoma is one of the most photographed places in Finnish Lapland, and the listings sell it from Rovaniemi as though it were close by. It is not in Rovaniemi at all but in Posio, and getting to the falls and back is most of a day. That, and the walk, are what to know before booking.

A seven-hour day with three hours of driving

Every tour here runs to about seven hours door to door, and the operators that say how long the drive takes put it at an hour and a half each way. So around three of the seven hours are in a vehicle, and the canyon gets what is left.

That is not a reason to skip it; the falls are the reason people go. It is a reason not to book it on a trip of two or three days, where it will use the day that another activity needed, and not to book it the morning after a late aurora night.

The trail is harder than the tour pages say

The operators call the walk moderate, or moderately challenging. Metsähallitus, which runs the trail past the three largest frozen falls, grades it hard, says it is not maintained in winter, and warns that it is dangerously slippery and that ice grippers are needed. It also climbs to the tops of cliffs and down to the bottom of the canyon.

Both descriptions can be honest: a guide sets a pace and chooses the line, and a fit adult with grips will find it manageable. But the difference is the thing to plan around. Only one operator here lists ice grips in the price, and the others do not mention them. Ask before booking, and if the answer is no, buy or borrow a pair rather than doing this in ordinary boots.

Who should not go

The minimum ages published are eight and ten, and one operator states none. The age limit is the floor, not the test: a child who is unsteady on ice or tires on hills will find a few kilometres of icy up and down hard going, whatever their age. One operator warns anyone with a heart complaint or serious medical condition against the tour, and another asks for good general fitness. Take both seriously.

When the ice is at its best

One operator says the falls are best from December to March, when they are fully frozen. The tours that publish a season start in November or December and run into April, so an early- or late-season booking may find the ice smaller than in the photographs.

Which to book

For the ice itself: Nordic Odyssey, the only tour that includes grips, as long as everyone is ten or older.

With an eight- or nine-year-old: Wild About Lapland, which lends overalls and boots and serves lunch by a fire, or Beyond Arctic for a shorter walk and photographs of the family.

On a budget, and already equipped with good winter boots: Experience Tours, the cheapest ticket, with the minimum age confirmed first.

Snowtrail, which supplies this site, does not run a Korouoma tour, so none of these is ours.

Questions people ask

Can we go on our own instead of on a tour?

You can, with a car and the right kit. Metsähallitus says the waterfall trail usually stays open through the winter because snowshoers keep the path clear, but it is not maintained in winter, it is dangerously slippery and ice grippers are needed. The tours that give a drive time put it at about an hour and a half each way from Rovaniemi. Without a car, grips and someone confident on icy slopes, a guided tour is the sensible way to go.

What facilities are there on the trail?

Very few, which matters on a long day. Metsähallitus lists a campfire site and a dry toilet, for which you should bring your own toilet paper, but no water point and no waste bins, so everything you bring in has to come out with you. It asks visitors to check for wildfire warnings before lighting a fire. On a tour the guide handles the fire and the food; walking on your own, bring drinks and a flask.

What if we have to cancel?

The terms vary. Experience Tours offers free cancellation until 24 hours before. Wild About Lapland charges ten per cent within a year of the tour, half within seven days and the full price within 24 hours, and Nordic Odyssey's scale is similar, with no refund inside a day. Beyond Arctic's general terms refund in full until seven days out, half from six days to two, and nothing in the final day. For a full-day trip booked around a forecast, the free-cancellation option has real value.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.