Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

Visiting a husky farm in Rovaniemi

Harnessed huskies lying and standing on snow at the edge of a frozen lake, one looking into the camera, under a sunset sky with a streak of orange cloud

The short answer

In winter, go to Husky Park at Santa Claus Village: a park ticket is the cheapest way to see a large kennel, and a meet and greet adds time petting the dogs in a fenced area. For a proper farm visit, with a tour of the kennel and time among the dogs, come between spring and autumn, when a kennel outside town runs one. If a short ride is what would make the day, a park ticket with a few hundred metres behind the dogs costs far less than a safari. None of these needs a driving licence, and none of their pages sets a minimum age.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Husky Park: park visitHusky Park: meet and greetHusky Park: 500 m rideWild Nordic: kennel visit
Adult €15 — the cheapest adult ticket €35 €50 €30
Child (4–12) €10 — the cheapest child ticket €30 €35 €15
Two adults and two children €50 — the lowest family total €130 €170 €90
Time with the dogs Unlimited in opening hours 20 min in the pen, park unlimited A couple of minutes' ride, park unlimited 3 h visit
Petting the dogs Not stated Yes — petting the dogs is part of it Not stated Yes — petting the dogs is part of it
When it runs All year except May Snowy season Snowy season April–November
Getting there Santa Claus Village Santa Claus Village Santa Claus Village 30 km out, transfer extra

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the cheapest adult ticket, the cheapest child ticket, the lowest family total and petting the dogs is part of it. The family row is our arithmetic at the published fares for two adults and two children aged four to twelve. Time with the dogs and the season are unmarked because a longer visit or a summer date is not better for everyone.

Where these figures come from
  • Husky Park: park visit: A walk round a park its operator says has more than 130 Siberian huskies, with a short talk about the dogs every half hour and no limit on how long you stay.
  • Husky Park: meet and greet: The park visit with twenty minutes in a fenced area where you can pet the dogs freely, and a postcard of the husky you choose.
  • Husky Park: 500 m ride: A couple of minutes behind a guide-driven team, shared with others, on top of the park visit. It is a taste of the speed rather than a ride, and the cheapest way to have sat on a husky sled at all.
  • Wild Nordic: kennel visit: The one visit here at a working sled-dog kennel rather than an attraction, with the story of how the kennel runs and a pastry and a drink.

Most husky listings in Rovaniemi sell the ride. For a family with a small child, a photographer, or anyone who wants the dogs rather than the running, the ride is the expensive part and not the point. A visit is the other product, and it is worth knowing that there is less of it on offer than the search results suggest.

Winter means Husky Park

In the sledding season the kennels around Rovaniemi are selling rides, and the one kennel we found that publishes a visit without a ride runs it outside that season. In winter, the place that sells a visit on its own is Husky Park at Santa Claus Village.

That has two consequences. It is easy: the park is where many visitors already are, and you can combine it with the rest of the village in one trip. It is also a large kennel at a popular attraction, not a family farm down a forest road.

Of the park’s options, the plain visit is the cheapest way to see huskies anywhere in Rovaniemi, and the meet and greet is the one to choose if a child wants to touch a dog rather than look at one. The difference between the two is the pen, and for a four-year-old that difference is the whole visit.

Spring to autumn means a real kennel

Wild Nordic’s kennel visit runs from April to November, when the sledding season is over. The visit takes about three hours, spent at the kennel with the dogs rather than on a trail. On a warm day the dogs are kept in rather than let run loose, so a heatwave visit is quieter than a cool one.

It is the better experience of a kennel and the harder one to reach. Transfers are not in the price, and Wild Nordic’s page gives no fee for arranging one.

When a very short ride makes sense

Some visitors want the dogs and a moment of the speed. Husky Park sells its visit with a five-hundred-metre ride, guide-driven, with the sled shared. It is a real ride in the sense that the team pulls you, and not in the sense that a safari is. For a child who wants to say they rode a husky sled, it does the job for a fraction of a safari’s price.

If the ride starts to matter more than the dogs, the husky price guide sets out what the longer rides cost by the minute.

Where this leaves Snowtrail

Snowtrail supplies this site and does not sell a husky visit on its own. Its husky safari, shown in the card beside this page, starts with meeting the team and ends with feeding reindeer, but it is a four-hour tour built around the ride, priced accordingly, and wrong for anyone who came to this page wanting to skip it.

If the group is split — one person wants to drive a team, the rest want to meet the dogs — the safari covers both in one booking. Otherwise, the visits above are the right purchase, and none of them is ours.

Questions people ask

Can we just turn up?

At Husky Park, sometimes. Its meet and greet closes for booking twelve hours before the slot, but the park says that if it is sold out it sells meet and greet passes and short rides on the spot daily, so a walk-in can work, though the page promises nothing about how many passes are left on a given day. The kennel outside town cannot be visited on impulse: it is thirty kilometres from the centre with no transfer in the price, so book it and arrange how you will get there at the same time.

What should we wear?

Your own winter clothing. Husky Park's pages tell visitors to wear clothes according to the weather, and neither visit lists overalls or boots in the price, unlike the safaris. A park visit is mostly standing and walking slowly on packed snow, which is colder than it sounds after half an hour: warm boots, a hat, mittens and a layer more than you would wear in town. For a kennel visit between spring and autumn, footwear you do not mind getting dirty around a dog yard matters more than warmth.

Can we walk with a husky instead?

In the snow-free season, yes. Husky Park runs a forest hike of about five kilometres with a Siberian husky, one dog to every two people, lasting around two hours and forty-five minutes with the park visit, at €120 a person. It is not recommended for children under twelve, so it suits a family with teenagers better than one with toddlers, and the park cancels or reschedules if the day is too hot for the dogs. There is no winter equivalent.

Do children under four pay?

Neither operator says. Both publish a child fare for ages four to twelve and nothing for younger children, which may mean they come free and may mean nobody has written it down. With a baby or a toddler, ask when you book rather than at the gate. Neither page sets a minimum age either, so a small child is welcome on the published terms; the question is only what they cost.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.

Ready to look at dates?

See dates and prices