Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

Husky safari in Rovaniemi

View forward from the sled runners along the gangline of a husky team on a packed snow trail, a second sled and driver ahead, low golden sun on the snow-laden spruces

The view forward from the sled on a Rovaniemi husky safari. The same photograph appears on the tour page for Snowtrail’s safari.

The short answer

A Rovaniemi husky safari sold as three hours puts you on the sled for roughly 30 to 60 minutes. The rest is the transfer, getting into thermal overalls, a safety briefing, harnessing the team and a hot drink by the fire afterwards. Two numbers decide whether you enjoy it, and neither is the price: ask for the trail distance in kilometres, where 8 km upwards is a real run, and the maximum group size, where eight or fewer means you drive rather than queue.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Snowtrail SafarisBearhill HuskyLapland Royal AdventuresArctic Circle Husky Park
From €199 €196 €199 €110 — lowest starting price
Total duration 4 h 2.5 h 4 h About 15 min
Trail distance Not stated 6–10 km 7.5 km 5 km
Do you drive it yourself? Not stated Yes — you drive the sled Yes — you drive the sled No
People per sled Not stated 2 adults + 2 children — fewest sharing a sled 2 adults + 2 children — fewest sharing a sled 3–5
Minimum age 3 Under 1 by arrangement — takes the youngest children Not stated Not stated
Hotel pickup Yes — pickup included Selected locations Yes — pickup included No

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: lowest starting price, you drive the sled, fewest sharing a sled, takes the youngest children and pickup included. Trail distance carries no mark, and that is a limitation of the table rather than a judgement: the highlighting picks the lowest figure in a row, and on this row the longest run is the best one. Read it yourself, and note that the operator charging the most is the one that does not publish it.

Where these figures come from
  • Snowtrail Safaris: Our own supplier, and on the evidence of its own page the least forthcoming of the four. It is the only one here that does not publish a trail distance, does not give a maximum group size, and does not say whether you drive the sled or ride behind a guide — for the same 199 euros that buys a published 7.5 km elsewhere. It takes children from three, includes a reindeer visit and feeding alongside the dogs, and runs the longest programme. Ask for the kilometres before you book.
  • Bearhill Husky: The one that publishes what this page tells you to ask for: 45 minutes self-driven over roughly 6 to 10 km, in a 2.5-hour programme that is the shortest here and the cheapest of the three real safaris. Two adults and two children to a sled. If you want longer, their own range runs up to a 12-18 km self-driven tour, and the whole list is priced in the same open way.
  • Lapland Royal Adventures: Priced identically to Snowtrail and considerably more specific about what the money buys: 7.5 km of trail, about 45 minutes of it, self-driven, with at most two adults and two children per sled. Pickup covers a 10 km radius and costs 50 euros a direction beyond 11 km, which is worth checking if you are staying out of town. The page notes it is not recommended for pregnant travellers.
  • Arctic Circle Husky Park: Half the price of the safaris and a different product rather than a worse one: a 5 km ride that takes about 15 minutes, at Santa Claus Village, with park entry included and no time limit on staying afterwards. The catch is the sled — three to five people share it, so you are a passenger, not a driver. Right for small children and a spare hour, wrong if you wanted to drive a team through forest.

A husky safari is the most-booked winter activity in Rovaniemi and the one people most often get wrong. Not because the tours are bad, but because the listings all describe the same three hours in the same words, and the parts that decide whether you enjoy it are not in the description.

Here is what those parts are.

The number that matters is kilometres, not hours

Almost every operator sells a “3-hour husky safari”. Inside those three hours, the sled time ranges from about 15 minutes to a little over an hour depending on the kennel. The rest is transfer, kitting up, a briefing, harnessing and a drink by the fire afterwards.

None of that is padding — the overalls and the briefing are genuinely necessary, and the fire at the end is the part people remember. But if you booked three hours imagining three hours of sledding, you will feel short-changed at the halfway point.

Ask for the trail distance. Anything from 8 km upwards is a real run. Below 5 km is a taster.

Distance is one of several things that decide which tour suits which group, and the best husky tour in Rovaniemi weighs it against the others rather than on its own.

How far the kennel is from town changes the tour

Kennels close to Rovaniemi run short loops on trails shared with several other operators. You will see other teams, hear other groups, and the trail will be well churned by mid-season.

Kennels 10–25 km out have longer trails and more of them, so you are more likely to go an hour without seeing anyone. The cost is 20–30 minutes of minibus each way, inside the same advertised tour length.

Neither is better. If you have one afternoon and a tight schedule, close is right. If what you pictured was empty forest, it is worth the drive.

The awkward part is that you cannot look this up. Not one of the four operators below publishes how far its kennel is from the centre. What two of them publish is a pickup radius, which sounds like the same number and is not — it describes how far they will come to fetch you, not how far you are then driven. So this one has to be a question you ask, and an operator that answers it precisely is telling you something about the rest of its answers.

Group size decides how much sled time you get

This is the most reliable predictor of a good tour and the least advertised number.

With eight people, you get four sleds, everyone drives half the trail, and the guide can actually help you. With twenty-plus, the line is long, the stops are longer, and you spend more time waiting for the sled in front.

If an operator does not publish a maximum group size, assume it is large.

The way around a number nobody will publish is to stop sharing the sled at all. A private husky tour prices that certainty for a family or a group, and there is a cheaper private version that skips the ride.

Skipping the ride entirely is also an answer. Meeting the dogs without buying a sled run costs a fraction of any of this, and a husky farm visit in Rovaniemi sets out what a kennel or park visit gets you, how long you actually spend with the dogs and which months it runs.

What it costs, and why cheaper is sometimes correct

The striking thing about the half-day safaris is how little the price varies. The three compared below sit within three euros of each other, which means price is almost the only thing here that does not tell you what you are buying. Everything that does vary — the kilometres, who drives, how many share your sled — is further down the table. Rovaniemi is not the whole country either: the same safari is priced differently again in Levi, Ylläs and Saariselkä, which is what a husky safari in Lapland, resort by resort sets side by side.

Below that band you are buying a different product rather than a worse one. The park ride at Santa Claus Village costs under half as much, drops to €85 for a child, and is over in a quarter of an hour. With a five-year-old who will lose interest after ten minutes, that is the better purchase and the forest safari is the worse one. Match the tour to the group, not to the budget. Where the line actually falls — the minimum age, who is allowed to drive and where a small child sits — is worked through in husky sledding with small children.

If the group is mostly small children, a reindeer farm visit is the calmer purchase and asks nothing of them but standing still.

Two animals in one day, or an animal and a machine, is a different decision again. Whether the reindeer half of a combination is a real sleigh ride or only a visit is the whole of husky and reindeer in one day, and whether pairing the dogs with a snowmobile beats booking the two separately is the whole of huskies and a snowmobile.

Questions people ask

How much of a husky safari is actually spent on the sled?

On a typical 3-hour Rovaniemi husky safari, the sled time is between 30 and 60 minutes. The rest goes on transfer from your hotel, getting into thermal overalls, a safety briefing, harnessing, and a warm drink at the kennel afterwards. This is the single biggest gap between what people expect and what they get, and it is worth checking the trail length in kilometres rather than the tour length in hours before you book.

Do I drive the sled myself or does a guide drive it?

On most Rovaniemi tours you drive, in pairs: one person stands on the runners and works the brake while the other sits in the basket, and you swap at the halfway point. You are never alone — a guide leads the line and another follows. If a tour does not say clearly that you drive, assume you are a passenger, because operators that offer driving always advertise it.

What happens if it is too warm or there is not enough snow?

Below about −25 °C and above roughly +2 °C, kennels shorten or cancel runs, because the dogs overheat easily in mild weather and their paws suffer in extreme cold. Early December and late March are the riskiest windows. Reputable operators cancel and refund rather than run a bad tour, so check that the cancellation terms cover operator-side cancellation and not just yours.

Is a husky safari cruel to the dogs?

It depends entirely on the kennel, and it is a fair question to ask before booking. The things worth checking are how many runs a team does per day, whether dogs are chained or in runs, and whether you are allowed into the kennel area to see them. Kennels with nothing to hide will show you. A kennel that keeps visitors to a fenced-off staging area and moves you along quickly is telling you something.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.

Ready to look at dates?

See dates and prices