Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

What a husky safari costs in Rovaniemi

A husky team pulling a sled with a driver and a passenger down a deep-snow forest track between frosted spruces

The short answer

Price a husky ride by the minute on the sled and by the whole party, never by one adult ticket. The short rides that look cheap cost the most for each minute you are moving, and the long self-driven tours cost the least. For a family, child fares and age limits change the total more than the adult price does, and some operators publish no child fare at all. Then add what the ticket leaves out, which is usually winter clothing and transport, and check whether your dates fall in a peak window.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Snowtrail: Arctic WildernessBearhill: Happy TrailBearhill: Call of the WildBearhill: Santa's Husky Rides
Adult ticket €199 €196–201 €249 €63 — the cheapest adult ticket
Child ticket (4–11) Not stated €128–133 Not open to children €52 — the cheapest child ticket
Two adults and two children aged 4–11 No child fare published €648–668 Not open to children €230 — the lowest family total
Minutes on the sled 45–60 45 90 7–12
Adult ticket per sled minute €3.32–4.42 €4.36–4.47 €2.77 — the least paid for each minute on the sled €5.25–9.00
Winter clothing Included Included Included Not included
Transport from Rovaniemi Within 10 km of centre Selected locations Selected locations Not included

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the cheapest adult ticket, the cheapest child ticket, the lowest family total and the least paid for each minute on the sled. The per-minute row is our arithmetic, not an operator's figure: the adult ticket divided by the sled time each operator publishes, which is why a range of minutes gives a range of prices. It ignores everything else in the programme, so it says nothing about what a longer tour includes beyond the sled.

Where these figures come from
  • Snowtrail: Arctic Wilderness: Our own supplier. The ticket buys more than the dogs: a reindeer visit with feeding and a kota break by the fire are inside the four hours, and the per-minute row counts neither, so it is the column that row treats least fairly.
  • Bearhill: Happy Trail: Teenagers of twelve to sixteen pay €167–172, a fare the table has no row for. Only adults of seventeen and over drive: children ride in the family sled and teenagers in the guide's. The ranges in its cells are its peak and normal fares.
  • Bearhill: Call of the Wild: Teenagers of twelve to sixteen pay €207 and ride rather than drive. At most two share a sled, so a teenager rides with a parent where there is room and with the guide where there is not.
  • Bearhill: Santa's Husky Rides: A musher drives and you ride, over about two and a half kilometres, inside a thirty-minute slot at Santa Claus Village. For a family who want the photograph and a few minutes behind the dogs, it is the right size of purchase.

Every husky listing in Rovaniemi leads with one number, the adult ticket, and it is the least useful number on the page. It says nothing about how long you are on the sled, what the children cost, or what you still have to pay for after checkout. This page prices those instead. Which tour suits your group is a separate question, and the best husky tour in Rovaniemi is where it is answered.

Divide by the minutes and the order reverses

The ticket buys a programme, and most of a programme is not spent on the sled. The listings do publish sled time, though, so the price of the part you came for can be worked out, and it turns the price list upside down.

The short rides at Santa Claus Village cost the least to buy and the most for each minute behind the dogs. Bearhill’s Call of the Wild is the dearest ticket and the cheapest ride, because it is the only one that doubles the sled time without doubling the price. The half-day tours sit in between, close together.

None of that makes the short ride a bad purchase. If ten minutes is what a five-year-old will enjoy, paying for ninety is the waste. The per-minute figure is for the other case: the adult who wants to drive a team and is choosing between two tours whose prices look similar.

A family pays for the fare ladder, not the adult price

For a family the adult ticket is only half of the bill, and the operators do not all price children the same way.

Bearhill publishes a separate fare for teenagers and for children, so a family can work out the total from the page. Husky Park does the same for its park ride: €110 an adult and €85 a child from four to twelve.

The age limits cost more than the fares. A tour that turns away under-twelves does not simply exclude the children; it means one adult stays behind with them or the family books something else. When you compare totals, compare tours that the whole party can actually go on.

What the ticket leaves out

Winter clothing is the expensive omission. The kennel tours include winter clothing. The rides at Santa Claus Village, at both Bearhill and Husky Park, expect you to arrive dressed for the cold, and a visitor who did not pack for Lapland will either rent or spend the ride uncomfortable.

Transport is the second. Bearhill says its park rides do not include it and Husky Park does not mention it, which matters less if you are staying near Santa Claus Village and more if you are not. The kennel tours collect from set points, but not everywhere: Bearhill adds €12 a person each way from Apukka Resort and Vaattunki, and Lapland Royal Adventures charges €50 a direction beyond 11 km of its office. For a family of four staying out of town, either of those is a meaningful share of the day.

Smaller than either, but listed separately by Bearhill: snow goggles are not included on its tours.

When the same ride costs less

The peak weeks are Christmas and New Year. Bearhill’s family tour charges its higher fares from 30 November to 10 January, for adults, teenagers and children alike, and the lower ones for the rest of the season. Husky Park also charges more in a high season, but the only dates on its page are last winter’s, so ask which weeks count this winter before planning around its regular price.

The cheapest period at a kennel is before the snow. Bearhill’s Born to Run runs from mid-October to the end of November at €169 for an adult, less than any of its self-driven winter tours, but it is a four-kilometre run on a cart or a sled depending on the conditions, and that trade is the whole point of the lower price.

The other way to pay less is to buy less. Lapland Royal Adventures sells its five-kilometre experience from €169 and an introductory short ride from €59, below its €199 wilderness safari. Shorter tours are not dishonest discounts; they are shorter.

What Snowtrail’s price does and does not tell you

Snowtrail supplies this site, and its price is the hardest of these to judge. It publishes no child fare, no seasonal price and no wording that says the price is per person. For two adults that uncertainty is small. For a family it is the whole question, and it should be settled by email before booking rather than on the invoice.

Every figure on this page is a Rovaniemi one. The same safari carries different prices in Levi, Ylläs and Saariselkä, and a husky safari in Lapland, resort by resort is where those sit side by side — useful if the resort is still up for decision rather than the tour.

Questions people ask

I am travelling alone. Do I pay for a whole sled?

None of the pages checked for this guide mentions a single supplement, so on the published terms the cost of travelling alone is company rather than money. Bearhill's family tour says that where a group has an odd number of adults, one may be asked to share a sled with someone outside the group, and its Santa Claus Village rides put solo travellers in with other guests. A lone adult with a child under eight on that family tour needs another adult from outside the booking to hold the child. Snowtrail's page says nothing on sharing, so ask.

Is any of the price lost as soon as I book?

At Bearhill, part of it. Its kennel tours charge a ten per cent cancellation fee on any booking cancelled within a year of the tour, which in practice is every booking, and the whole price from seven days out. Its Santa Claus Village rides charge twenty per cent up to three days before and the full price after that. Husky Park refunds in full up to two days before. Snowtrail's tour page promises free cancellation up to a day before, but its general terms charge half the price in the final week, so budget for the stricter version until Snowtrail confirms which applies.

Do babies and toddlers pay?

Nobody says. Bearhill's family tour welcomes infants and lends them a sleeping bag, and asks to be contacted in advance for children under one, but its child fare starts at four and no price is shown for anyone younger. Husky Park's child fare also starts at four with nothing said about younger children. Snowtrail's minimum age is three, so there the question is only about three-year-olds, and its page does not answer it either. Ask before booking whether an under-four travels free, because on a family ticket that is the difference of a whole fare.

Are there discount codes?

Lapland Royal Adventures shows the code EB26 on its husky tours page as an early bird discount of fifteen per cent, with no end date, booking deadline or excluded dates. Bearhill and Husky Park advertise none. Treat the code as something to try at checkout rather than a price to plan around, and check that it was accepted before you pay.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.

Ready to look at dates?

See dates and prices