A snowmobile safari with children in Rovaniemi
Illustration photo: a snowmobile towing a sledge along a forest track at sunset.
The short answer
Yes, children can come on a snowmobile safari in Rovaniemi, riding in a sleigh pulled by the guide's snowmobile. Measure them before booking, because height rather than age decides whether a child rides in the sleigh or sits behind a parent on a machine. Expect one adult to ride in the sleigh with a small child, and plan who drives around that. Price the family at adult fares until the operator tells you otherwise. If nobody in the group can or wants to drive, book a sleigh-only tour instead.
How the operators compare
Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.
| Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer | StayLapland: Private Trails | Lapland Royal: Wilderness Ride | Lapland Royal: Sleigh Ride | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| From | €149 | €99 | €89 | €59 — the lowest starting price |
| Youngest child | 3 | 3, recommended | 2 — takes the youngest children | 2 — takes the youngest children |
| Child rides in the sleigh if under | 145 cm | 140 cm | 140 cm, or aged 2–13 | Everyone rides in it |
| Adult in the sleigh with a small child | Not stated | Not stated | Recommended | Required under 140 cm |
| Child fare | Not stated | Adult fare from 140 cm | Not stated | Not stated |
| Heated, covered sleigh | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes — a heated and covered sleigh |
| Licensed driver needed in the group | No | Not stated | Not stated | No |
-
Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer
- From
- €149
- Youngest child
- 3
- Child rides in the sleigh if under
- 145 cm
- Adult in the sleigh with a small child
- Not stated
- Child fare
- Not stated
- Heated, covered sleigh
- Not stated
- Licensed driver needed in the group
- No
Our own supplier, and at four hours the longest of the four. Where it wins and where it loses for families each get a section below.
-
StayLapland: Private Trails
- From
- €99
- Youngest child
- 3, recommended
- Child rides in the sleigh if under
- 140 cm
- Adult in the sleigh with a small child
- Not stated
- Child fare
- Adult fare from 140 cm
- Heated, covered sleigh
- Not stated
- Licensed driver needed in the group
- Not stated
Runs on the operator's own trails and needs at least two bookings to go ahead on weekdays and four on Sundays and public holidays, which a family of four meets without waiting for strangers.
-
Lapland Royal: Wilderness Ride
- From
- €89
- Youngest child
- 2 — takes the youngest children
- Child rides in the sleigh if under
- 140 cm, or aged 2–13
- Adult in the sleigh with a small child
- Recommended
- Child fare
- Not stated
- Heated, covered sleigh
- Not stated
- Licensed driver needed in the group
- Not stated
The cheaper of the two self-drive tours with a published price, three hours long, and the only one that sells a snowmobile to yourself for €50 extra. Pickup from more than 11 km from its office costs €50 each way.
-
Lapland Royal: Sleigh Ride
- From
- €59 — the lowest starting price
- Youngest child
- 2 — takes the youngest children
- Child rides in the sleigh if under
- Everyone rides in it
- Adult in the sleigh with a small child
- Required under 140 cm
- Child fare
- Not stated
- Heated, covered sleigh
- Yes — a heated and covered sleigh
- Licensed driver needed in the group
- No
No driving at all: the whole group rides behind the guide and nobody needs a licence. It runs from November to March and lasts three hours.
Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest starting price, takes the youngest children and a heated and covered sleigh. The height and the adult-in-the-sleigh rows are unmarked because a stricter rule is not a worse one: an adult beside a three-year-old is a safety rule, not a drawback. The child fare row is unmarked because only one operator publishes anything, and what it publishes is when a child stops paying less.
Where these figures come from
- Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer snowtrailsafaris.com read 16 Sept 2026
- StayLapland: Private Trails staylapland.com read 17 Sept 2026
- Lapland Royal: Wilderness Ride laplandroyaladventures.fi read 17 Sept 2026
- Lapland Royal: Sleigh Ride laplandroyaladventures.fi read 17 Sept 2026
- Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer: Our own supplier, and at four hours the longest of the four. Where it wins and where it loses for families each get a section below.
- StayLapland: Private Trails: Runs on the operator's own trails and needs at least two bookings to go ahead on weekdays and four on Sundays and public holidays, which a family of four meets without waiting for strangers.
- Lapland Royal: Wilderness Ride: The cheaper of the two self-drive tours with a published price, three hours long, and the only one that sells a snowmobile to yourself for €50 extra. Pickup from more than 11 km from its office costs €50 each way.
- Lapland Royal: Sleigh Ride: No driving at all: the whole group rides behind the guide and nobody needs a licence. It runs from November to March and lasts three hours.
Parents ask whether children can come on a snowmobile safari, and the answer in Rovaniemi is yes. What the listings bury is how: where the child sits, who sits with them, and what that does to the rest of the family’s day. Those rules differ by operator and they are worth reading before you book, not at the safari house.
Why nobody under eighteen drives, whatever their age or experience, is explained in the snowmobile safari guide. This page takes that as given.
Measure the children, do not count their birthdays
Every operator here decides between the sleigh and a seat on a snowmobile by height. A child below the line rides in the sleigh the guide tows; a child above it can sit behind a parent on a machine. Snowtrail’s line is a few centimetres higher than the others’, so a child who rides pillion with one operator can find themselves in the sleigh with another.
Lapland Royal Adventures muddies it by stating two rules on the same page: one by height and one putting every child from two to thirteen in the sledge. A tall eleven-year-old meets the first and not the second. If your child is near either line, ask which rule the guide applies on the day, and know the child’s height in centimetres when you do.
Someone rides with them, and that someone is not driving
A small child does not travel alone in a sleigh. Lapland Royal Adventures says so outright, recommending a parent beside a small child on its self-drive tour and requiring an adult with any child under 140 cm on its sleigh tour. Snowtrail and StayLapland do not say either way, which is a question to ask rather than a freedom to assume.
The consequence is easy to miss. Two adults with two small children do not get two drivers: one drives and one rides in the sleigh. Lapland Royal Adventures says adults can usually swap places during its self-drive tour, which gives both parents a turn. A single parent with a small child should expect to spend the safari in the sleigh, and in that case a tour built around the sleigh is better value than one built around the machine.
What a family pays
Nobody here publishes a reduced fare for a child in the sleigh. The one operator that mentions children’s prices at all does so to say when a child stops paying less, and the others give an adult starting price and a minimum age and leave the family total to the checkout.
Until an operator tells you otherwise, price the family at adult fares for every person. If the total then comes in lower, that is a pleasant surprise rather than a budget problem.
When nobody in the family needs to drive
Some families do not want the machine at all: nobody has a licence, a grandparent is coming, or the children are the point. For them the right purchase is a sleigh-only tour, where the guide drives and everyone rides.
Lapland Royal Adventures’ sleigh ride is the budget choice, and a heated, covered sleigh is worth more with a small child on a cold day than anything else in the table. Snowtrail sells two private sleigh rides at €159: one to Santa’s Hidden Cabin, over six kilometres, and one to a frozen lake for ice fishing. Its pages describe the sleigh as lined with reindeer hides and say little ones can sit on a parent’s lap, but not whether it is covered. Neither Snowtrail page says whether its price is for each person or for the private group, so ask before comparing it with anything.
Where Snowtrail wins and where it loses
Snowtrail supplies this site. Its safari wins on one thing families care about: any adult who would rather not drive may take the sleigh, so a family can bring a grandparent without leaving anyone behind at the hotel. It also gives children more to do than sit, with a cabin stop and reindeer at the end.
It loses on information. On the three things a parent of a three-year-old most needs to know — what the child costs, whether a parent rides in the sleigh and whether the sleigh is covered — its page is silent. Ask all three before booking.
Questions people ask
Can we bring a pushchair?
Plan on leaving it at the hotel. Lapland Royal Adventures lists its sleigh tour as not stroller accessible, and none of the other pages says a pushchair can come. Every tour here starts with a pickup, a change into winter overalls at the operator's base and a ride along a snow trail, none of which has a use for wheels. A child who still needs a pushchair on a town day is best carried between the vehicle, the base and the sleigh.
Is there winter clothing small enough for a child?
StayLapland says so outright: its winter clothing comes in adult and child sizes, and it adds that its clothes are available in all sizes. Lapland Royal Adventures lists a winter overall and Snowtrail lists thermal clothing, boots and gloves, but neither page mentions children's sizes. Send the operator each child's height and shoe size when you book, so that the right overalls and boots are waiting, rather than finding at the safari house that the smallest boots are two sizes too big.
Is it suitable for someone with a bad back or a heart condition?
Lapland Royal Adventures says its sleigh tour is not recommended for people with back problems or heart conditions, and that is the only one of these pages to address it. The sleigh is towed over a forest trail rather than a road, so a grandparent with a bad back should not assume that riding rather than driving makes it gentler. If anyone in the family has either condition, ask the operator before booking, and describe the condition rather than asking in general whether the tour is easy.
What if a child is ill on the day?
At StayLapland and Lapland Royal Adventures you lose the whole price if you cancel within 24 hours, and neither lists a fee for cancelling earlier, so a child who wakes up with a fever costs the full booking. Snowtrail's tour page promises free cancellation up to 24 hours before, but its general terms charge half the price from a week out, so ask which applies. Travel insurance that covers a child's illness is worth checking before a family books four or five tickets.
