Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

A snowmobile northern lights tour in Rovaniemi

A woman in a blue and black snowmobile overall with goggles on her helmet waving on a snowbank at night, a band of green aurora low on the horizon behind her

The short answer

Decide first whether the evening is mainly a drive or mainly a wait for the sky, because these tours differ most on that. If driving at night is the point, book one that publishes an hour or two on the machines and a long route. If seeing the lights is the point, a short drive to a warm stop leaves more of the evening for watching. Then check the damage excess and the start time, which not every operator publishes. None of these tours refunds a night without the lights.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Snowtrail: to the Aurora CabinStayLapland: snowmobile drivingLapland Royal: Aurora ChaseBeyond Arctic: eSled
From €149 €149 €119 — the lowest starting price €199
Length 4 h 4 h, 19:00–23:00 4 h 3 h, from 21:00
Time driving Not stated About 1 h About 2 h 1.5–2 h
Route 6 km Not stated Not stated 20–30 km
Machine to yourself Not stated Not stated €50 extra €70 extra
Damage excess Not stated €900, or €250 for €25 — the lowest published damage excess Not stated €990
Child fare Not stated Adult fare from 140 cm Not stated €149.25, aged 4–14

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest starting price and the lowest published damage excess. Time driving and the route are unmarked because more driving is only better if driving is what you came for; on this tour it is traded against time at the stop, where the sky is watched.

Where these figures come from
  • Snowtrail: to the Aurora Cabin: Our own supplier. Where the evening's short drive helps and where it costs you is set out in its own section below.
  • StayLapland: snowmobile driving: One ticket per person, two to a machine, with refreshments at a campfire and pickup within ten kilometres of the centre.
  • Lapland Royal: Aurora Chase: Sausages and hot drinks at the stop. Its starting price is on the operator's list of tours rather than the tour page, and neither says whether it is per person.
  • Beyond Arctic: eSled: Electric snowmobiles and a kota break of up to an hour, running from December to March only.

A snowmobile aurora tour sells two things in one evening: driving a machine through a forest in the dark, and standing still waiting for the sky. You cannot do the second while doing the first, so every tour divides its hours between them, and that division is what separates tours that otherwise look the same.

Who may drive, why two share a machine and what the excess is for are explained in the snowmobile safari guide. Why cloud rather than the tour decides the sky is in the northern lights guide.

The evening is a drive or a wait

Put the published figures side by side and the four tours fall into two kinds.

Two of them are drives with a stop in the middle. Lapland Royal Adventures puts around half of a four-hour evening on the machines, and Beyond Arctic covers the longest route here inside a shorter tour. If the lights do not appear, you have still had the night drive you paid for.

The other two are stops with a drive at either end. StayLapland gives about an hour to the machines inside four hours, and Snowtrail’s route to its cabin is the shorter of the two routes any operator publishes. Most of the evening is spent where the sky is watched, which suits a group whose first reason for booking is the aurora.

Neither is the better tour. The mistake is booking one kind while expecting the other.

Driving at night is colder and slower

After dark, the machine is the coldest place on the evening: moving air, no sun, and the nights clear enough for aurora are usually the coldest ones. StayLapland is the only operator to publish a limit, cancelling or rescheduling below minus thirty-five and below minus twenty-five for small children.

Dress for the stop rather than the ride. The overalls and boots are provided on all four tours, and the layer you bring underneath is what decides whether an hour of waiting at a campfire is pleasant.

The late start

Two operators publish their start times, and one of them starts late enough to finish around midnight. Snowtrail and Lapland Royal Adventures publish none. With children, or before an early flight, get the time before booking. Where children ride and what they pay follow the same rules as a daytime safari, set out in the family snowmobile safari guide.

Where Snowtrail wins and where it loses

Snowtrail supplies this site. Its tour is the one to choose when the aurora matters more than the machine: the drive is short, the destination is its own cabin away from town lights, and smaller children travel in a sleigh behind the guide. For a group with nervous drivers or young children, a short drive to a warm stop is the better evening.

It loses on everything a keen driver wants to know. The page gives no driving time, no damage excess and no start time, and the short route suggests little time on the machine, though the page does not say how little. A driver who came for the snowmobile should book one of the longer drives, and anyone choosing Snowtrail should ask for the excess before signing anything at the safari house.

Questions people ask

What happens if the lights do not show?

The evening goes ahead and nobody here pays anything back. Snowtrail's terms say a night without the lights is not a reason for a refund if the tour runs, and StayLapland says it cannot guarantee a sighting. Neither Lapland Royal Adventures nor Beyond Arctic states a remedy. That is why the split between driving and waiting matters: on a cloudy night a tour with two hours on the machines still delivers its main purpose, while a tour built around a cabin stop delivers a warm evening in a cabin.

Will the tour run if only one or two of us book?

Not always. StayLapland needs at least two bookings on weekdays and Saturdays and four on Sundays and public holidays, and Lapland Royal Adventures needs two. Beyond Arctic and Snowtrail do not publish a minimum on these pages. A solo traveller should expect to pay the single-driver supplement where there is one, or to share a machine with a stranger, and should ask on booking whether the departure is already confirmed for that night.

What if we have to cancel?

StayLapland and Lapland Royal Adventures charge the full price within 24 hours and nothing before that. Beyond Arctic's terms refund in full until seven days out, keep half from six days to two, and keep everything in the final day, which is stricter than the others. Snowtrail's tour page promises free cancellation until 24 hours before, but its general terms charge half from seven days out, so ask which applies. On an evening tour booked for a cloudy forecast, those terms decide whether moving it costs anything.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.

Ready to look at dates?

See dates and prices