The best snowmobile tour in Rovaniemi
The short answer
Choose by what the group wants from the machine. If driving is the point, book a tour that sells a snowmobile to yourself, because sharing halves your time at the handlebars. On a tight budget, book the cheapest ticket that also publishes its damage excess and a way to reduce it. With small children, pick a tour with a sleigh behind the guide and something to do at the stops. For a private group, book an operator that prints a private price. Whichever you choose, ask for the excess in writing if the page does not show it.
How the operators compare
Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.
| Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer | StayLapland: Private Trails | Lapland Royal: Arctic Wilderness | Lapland Royal: Private Trip | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| From | €149 | €99 | €89 — the lowest starting price | €250 |
| Driving time | Not stated | About 1 h | 45–60 min | About 1 h |
| Published trail | 8 km | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Machine to yourself | Not stated | Not stated | €50 extra | €50 extra |
| Damage excess | Not stated | €900, or €250 for €25 — the lowest published damage excess | €1000, or €300 for €20 | Not stated |
| Youngest child | 3 | 3, recommended | 2 — takes the youngest children | Not stated |
-
Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer
- From
- €149
- Driving time
- Not stated
- Published trail
- 8 km
- Machine to yourself
- Not stated
- Damage excess
- Not stated
- Youngest child
- 3
Our own supplier, and at four hours level with the private trip as the longest programme here, with pickup, clothing and a guide inside the price. Where it wins and where it loses each get a section below.
-
StayLapland: Private Trails
- From
- €99
- Driving time
- About 1 h
- Published trail
- Not stated
- Machine to yourself
- Not stated
- Damage excess
- €900, or €250 for €25 — the lowest published damage excess
- Youngest child
- 3, recommended
The plainest wording of the four about what you are buying: two people to a machine, one ticket for each of them, and the damage terms printed on the tour page rather than left to a question.
-
Lapland Royal: Arctic Wilderness
- From
- €89 — the lowest starting price
- Driving time
- 45–60 min
- Published trail
- Not stated
- Machine to yourself
- €50 extra
- Damage excess
- €1000, or €300 for €20
- Youngest child
- 2 — takes the youngest children
Its starting price appears on the operator's list of tours rather than on the tour's own page, and neither says whether it is per person, so confirm the total at checkout. Pickup from more than 11 km from its office costs €50 each way.
-
Lapland Royal: Private Trip
- From
- €250
- Driving time
- About 1 h
- Published trail
- Not stated
- Machine to yourself
- €50 extra
- Damage excess
- Not stated
- Youngest child
- Not stated
Two share each machine and may swap as they go. The page says a maximum personal liability applies without saying what it is, which on a private booking is worth an email before paying.
Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest starting price, the lowest published damage excess and takes the youngest children. Driving time is unmarked because a longer drive is not the better tour for every group, and the trail is unmarked because only one operator publishes one. The solo supplement is unmarked because paying for your own machine is a choice, not a better price.
Where these figures come from
- Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer snowtrailsafaris.com read 17 Sept 2026
- StayLapland: Private Trails staylapland.com read 17 Sept 2026
- Lapland Royal: Arctic Wilderness laplandroyaladventures.fi read 17 Sept 2026
- Lapland Royal: Private Trip laplandroyaladventures.fi read 17 Sept 2026
- Snowtrail: Snowmobile & Reindeer: Our own supplier, and at four hours level with the private trip as the longest programme here, with pickup, clothing and a guide inside the price. Where it wins and where it loses each get a section below.
- StayLapland: Private Trails: The plainest wording of the four about what you are buying: two people to a machine, one ticket for each of them, and the damage terms printed on the tour page rather than left to a question.
- Lapland Royal: Arctic Wilderness: Its starting price appears on the operator's list of tours rather than on the tour's own page, and neither says whether it is per person, so confirm the total at checkout. Pickup from more than 11 km from its office costs €50 each way.
- Lapland Royal: Private Trip: Two share each machine and may swap as they go. The page says a maximum personal liability applies without saying what it is, which on a private booking is worth an email before paying.
Every snowmobile tour in Rovaniemi sells roughly the same morning: pickup, overalls, a briefing, a guided line through forest, something hot to drink. What separates them is how much of that morning you spend driving and on what terms, and each operator publishes a different part of it. This page picks for each kind of group from what is on the page. What a safari involves in the first place, and the rules behind it, are in the snowmobile safari guide.
If driving is the whole point
Lapland Royal Adventures, and pay for your own machine. Sharing a snowmobile means handing over the handlebars for half the ride, and it is the only operator of the four whose page offers a way out of that. The supplement is less than half the ticket on its group tour and buys the half of the driving you would otherwise spend as a passenger.
StayLapland publishes about the same driving time but no solo option, so a pair who both want to drive is well served there and a single keen driver is not. Snowtrail cannot be judged on this at all until it says how long the driving lasts and how many share a machine.
If the budget is tight
Lapland Royal Adventures’ group tour. It is the cheapest ticket, and it stays the cheapest once each operator’s damage waiver is added to the price, which is the fairer comparison on a machine you could put into a tree.
StayLapland is the one to weigh against it. Its waiver costs a little more and leaves a little less at stake afterwards, and its page is plainer about what a ticket buys. For a group that would rather pay slightly more to know exactly what it is paying for, that is a reasonable trade, but it is not the cheaper tour.
If you are travelling with small children
Snowtrail, for a half-day with something in it for a child beyond the ride: a wilderness cabin stop and reindeer at the end, with the smaller children in a sleigh behind the guide. If the youngest is two, Lapland Royal Adventures is the only choice here, because it takes children a year earlier. The rules on where children sit, who rides with them and what they cost are set out in the family snowmobile safari guide.
If you want the group to yourselves
Lapland Royal Adventures’ private trip, as long as there are at least four of you. It is the only private tour of the four with a price on the page, so you can budget before writing to anyone.
Snowtrail says any of its tours can be made private and gives no price for it, so it is a quote rather than a comparison. StayLapland’s tour runs on private trails, which is a statement about the land, not the group: nothing on the page says the group is yours alone.
Where Snowtrail loses
Snowtrail supplies this site, so the gaps need saying as plainly as the wins.
On the two things that decide a snowmobile tour, driving time and damage liability, its page is silent. It is also the only tour here that says nothing on how many people share a machine or whether you can have one to yourself. None of that means the terms are poor; it means you cannot compare them, when three other pages show the figures can be published.
What it does publish is the trail length, which no other operator here does, and a programme with more in it than the ride. If those are what your group wants, ask Snowtrail for the driving time, the machines and the excess in writing, and book it knowing all three.
A fifth operator is left out of the table because it publishes too little to place in it, and it is the one you will meet if you are already at Santa Claus Village: Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park sets out what its tours cost and what its pages do and do not say.
Questions people ask
I am travelling alone. Will the tour run?
Not necessarily, and on these tours that matters more than a single supplement. StayLapland needs at least two bookings to run on weekdays and Saturdays and at least four on Sundays and public holidays. Lapland Royal Adventures needs two for its group tour. Snowtrail's page does not state a minimum. A solo traveller should book early, choose a weekday, and ask the operator a few days before whether the departure is confirmed, rather than discover on the morning that it is not.
What do I need to bring to drive?
Your driving licence, physically. Every operator here requires the driver to hold one, and Lapland Royal Adventures specifies a category B licence or an equivalent valid in Finland and says proof must be shown on the tour, so a photo on your phone or a licence left at the hotel means riding as a passenger. Warm clothing is not on the list, because all four tours include winter overalls, boots and gloves or mittens; Lapland Royal Adventures suggests wearing your own warm layers underneath.
What happens if we cancel, or the operator does?
StayLapland and Lapland Royal Adventures both keep the whole price if you cancel within 24 hours of the start, and neither lists a fee for cancelling earlier. Snowtrail's tour pages promise the same, but its general terms charge half the price from seven days out and all of it in the final day, so plan on the stricter terms until it confirms which applies. If the operator cancels, Lapland Royal Adventures refunds in full with no further compensation, and Snowtrail lets you move the date or take a full refund.
Are there early booking discounts?
StayLapland advertises one on its tour page: it offers ten per cent with the code EARLY27, shown with the dates 1 November 2026 to 31 March 2027 and a note that husky and reindeer tours are excluded, without saying whether those are booking or travel dates. Lapland Royal Adventures shows no code on these two tour pages. A code tied to one season can stop working without the page changing, so do not build the budget around it. Check that a code has been applied before paying, since the page will not tell you when an offer has closed.
